Insights into Technology, Life and Webdesign by Aaron Miller

.

How to short the EEPROM on a dell latitude d610

Dell 610 EEprom chip;This process allowed me to unlock the bios password which had been set on a dell latitude d610 which my friend had acquired. I needed to open the back of the machine and short pins 3 and 6 (from right to left, the pins are labeled 8642 on the bottom and 7531 on the top of my picture)..use a paperclip and short it for 5 seconds about 2 seconds after you press start, then hit fn+x..good luck, worked on the 3rd try for me

Aaron Miller Computers

Best luck! lemme know if this helps

EDIT: damn tons of ppl view this page but nobody comments!!! I had to really search to find good info on this..is this picture suck? I have a better one but if nobody even cares I won’t bother to post it…100+ views and not a single comment..geeZ!

March 17, 2007 - Posted by | Dell latitude d610 BIOS bypass

28 Comments »

  1. Hey, my friend has a Dell Latitude D600 with the same problem, I was trying to match the EEEPROM location from your picture to the one I am working on, but could not figure out. Would you please help out? Thanks!

    Comment by mickeymouse2005 | July 22, 2007 | Reply

  2. I’ll try and update the picture with little red arrows sometime soon..Anybody else not able to figure out my cryptic double negative instructions?

    Comment by aaaronmiller | August 12, 2007 | Reply

  3. do you think the pins run the same for the d800

    7531 on top and 2468 on the bottom that is if you are facing the letters on the chip.

    Comment by hikosj | August 16, 2007 | Reply

  4. I have a picture of one but I guess you cant post links or can you?

    Comment by hikosj | August 16, 2007 | Reply

  5. Ok I know I post alot but you complained about not having many posts. from the picture that I sent you on the link if you are facing it it reads 24c04, very small leters. so if you are reading it you have the laptop turned the opposite way as if you were facing the back of the lcd screen. the it woul be 7532 on the bottom and 2468 on top. Although, I wonder if the could be 1234 on top and 5678 on bottom, again reading the letters on the eeprom chip?

    Thanks

    Best
    Regards

    Comment by hikosj | August 16, 2007 | Reply

  6. Dont worry about it anymore I was able to succesfully cleart it. but thanks it did help!

    Comment by hikosj | August 18, 2007 | Reply

  7. Thanks for the image..sorry I couldn’t help too much with the orientation, you gotta look carefully! One of the pins on the edge is bad btw; I used tape to cover it so I wouldn’t miss

    Comment by aaaronmiller | August 19, 2007 | Reply

  8. Thanks for the photo. Wish I’d found this earlier. It appears that you or a previous owner has cut away some of the chassis to make access to the EPROM easier.

    Comment by grfxguy | September 25, 2007 | Reply

  9. Thanks for the pic help a lot, no more BIOS password;
    one more reason not to buy dell.

    Comment by salvatruco | October 25, 2007 | Reply

  10. Hay there, Just trying this on a friends d610 I just want to know if I have this right. You have to short the pins when turn the laptop on? If so how did you manage to keep the pins shorted while you turned the laptop on and hit fcn x? I’ll post how welll it went for me.

    Comment by drrockin | November 17, 2007 | Reply

  11. hello,
    the picture is confusing. I cant see these pins. Could you draw arrows showing where about these pins are?

    Comment by linas1 | February 22, 2008 | Reply

  12. Hello, I would like to used your pictures on my website? or can I post some of your information on my website? my website is: http://www.passwordmethod.com let me know? I recover BIOS passwords for IBM ThinkPads and would love to used some of your information.
    Thank You
    spyerpwd

    Comment by spyerpwd | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  13. Hey drrockin were you able to clear it?

    Comment by hikosj | March 2, 2008 | Reply

  14. I have a Dell D610 laptop, where and how exactly can I short the pins? I have my sytem opened but I dont get where and how am I going to short the pins? could someone help me and be more specific?
    Thanks is advance

    Comment by heri05 | April 30, 2008 | Reply

  15. really this method work, i used this method and i succeed and my laptop password reset but when i turn off my laptop and turn on again then now it is asking me password for HDD…in same way in white and grey screen and now meassege is written that this computer HDD (hard disk ) is protected by password so again i can’t access to my laptop…
    now my question how i can remove this password which it is asking for HDD :( anybody can help me?????

    Comment by say2fari | July 3, 2008 | Reply

  16. I have the same problem, but with a Dell Latitude D500. Would you happen to have an image that shows the chip and pins that I have to short on this one?
    Please help!

    Comment by ramirez6j | August 27, 2008 | Reply

  17. can’t post

    Comment by lexus4jess | December 3, 2008 | Reply

  18. Just hacked my friends D610 Laptop.It worked great.Thanks.
    I just wasn.t sure what chip you where talking about.So I took some pictures.Here they are.Link below.http://lexus4jess.com/D610_bios_hack/ .hope this works.

    Comment by lexus4jess | December 3, 2008 | Reply

  19. Just hacked my friends D610 Laptop.It worked great.Thanks.
    I just wasn.t sure what chip you where talking about.So I took some pictures.Here they are.Link below.

    http://lexus4jess.com/D610_bios_hack

    hope this works.

    Comment by lexus4jess | December 3, 2008 | Reply

  20. that would mean that the HDD is security locked. it has less to do with the actual dell itself. You will need to lookup your hard drive and how to unlock it specifically as you may not have the same drive. for this you will need to find out of your hard drive has a master unlock code. There are other things people try to do to unlock drives. None of them very easy and the success rate is low. Most people replace the drive instead. If the HDD lock is the issue, new HD will solve it. If needing access to to the data on the locked drive is the issue… good luck.

    Comment by ad4pt | December 27, 2008 | Reply

  21. PS: to those who are a little confused with this one. the picture shows the orientation of the pin itself. pin 6 is second from the top left look at this diagram !6!! where the number 6 is written if each ! represented a pin and !!3! on the bottom, second from right. so top row 2nd from left bottome row second from right.

    Comment by ad4pt | December 28, 2008 | Reply

  22. It Worked Like a Pro.. Thanks

    Comment by altonacu | February 17, 2009 | Reply

  23. Just tried this out on a replacement motherboard for my D610 (old mobo had a dead charge/psu circuit).

    Shorting pins 3 and 6 worked perfectly.

    Nice one.

    Comment by danzal | April 1, 2009 | Reply

  24. worked like a champ first try… gracias!

    Comment by zekethelab | June 1, 2009 | Reply

  25. Did it and it worked on second pass. Using wire snips i removed the alum frame similar to the picture above. Used a paper clip on the two pins and powered the machine on which shorts out the chip. Some arrows for the pic would be more helpful, you can reach the chip with out cutting the frame I didn’t care all that much about mine though. I found a youtube video describing the process but this post was much more helpful. Thanks i no longer have a paper weight.

    Comment by freddykid | July 22, 2009 | Reply

  26. Thank you for this post. A little late I know but you never know when you will need to do something like that. I think this procedure may be a bit advanced for most users, and if you don’t know what you’re doing you could seriously damage your system.

    If you do not know how to read what numbers the pins are on an IC chip, then you have ABSOLUTELY ZERO business trying to carry out this procedure. Take it to someone who knows what they’re doing!

    Comment by evilwoodchuck | August 12, 2009 | Reply

  27. What worked for me was to short the 6th pin. I had to go to Google and find the pdf data sheet for the 24c04 chip. Once I found that and read about what each pin did I decided to short out the 6th pin based on their map of the pin. To short the pin just touch your other end of your paper clip to a ground source. To find a ground source you can use a volt meter or with a little more dexterity use the 4th pin according to the pdf map

    Comment by tperk99315 | November 28, 2009 | Reply

  28. and you dont have to worry about that whole fn+x deal just hold the power button down while shorting the 6th pin. Continue to hold the power button until the computer turns on the off again. (shorting the whole time) Then next time you turn your computer on it should work.

    Comment by tperk99315 | November 28, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

